Release

Once you have completed app development and testing, you can release your app. Releasing means to make your app available to users who do not have a role on the app itself or a role in a Business that has claimed it. This document lists the processes and app settings that may be required before you can release your app successfully.

If your app will only be used by people who have a role on the app itself or a role in a Business that has claimed it, you do not need to complete any of these processes because your app is already available to these users.

If you have already released your app and want to release new functionality that requires App Review, follow the steps in our App Review For Live Apps instructions.

App Review

If your app accesses data owned by anyone who does not have a role on the app itself or a role in a Business that has claimed the app, or if it accesses data owned by another Business, your app must undergo App Review.

App Review is a process that allows you to request approval for specific API permissions and features that your app needs to function properly. Only permissions approved through the App Review process can be granted to your app by app users without a role on the app or Business, and only approved features will be active for those users.

App Review requires you to identify each of the permissions and features your app needs, describe why your app needs them, and show us how your app uses the data returned or accepted by our APIs.

Learn more about the App Review procoess.

Business Verification

Business Verification is a process that allows us to verify your identity as a business entity. Verification is required for Business apps, apps that have Clients selected as their app purpose, and apps that need permission and features that require Business Verification.

Learn more about Business Verification.

Individual Verification

Due to coronavirus (COVID-19), we have temporarily paused Individual Verification to focus our reviewers on efforts that help keep people informed and safe. We know this review step is important and will resume it as soon as we can.

Read our blog post to learn more about this issue.

Live Mode

For non-business apps, you must switch your app to Live mode in order for app users without a role on the app itself or in a Business that has claimed it to be able to grant it permissions. However, you should not switch to Live mode until you have completed App Review and Business Verificaiton or Individual Verification (if either are required). If you switch your app to Live mode before completing all required release processes, all app users, even those with roles on the app or Business, will be unable to grant your app any permissions and all features will be inactive.

Releasing New Versions of Live Apps

If your app is already in Live mode and you want to release new functionality that requires App Review, follow the steps in our App Review For Live Apps instructions.

Limited Release Using Geo-Restriction

If you want to release your app to a small set of users before making it available to everyone, you can configure app restrictions that only make your app available to users in certain age groups and geographic locations.

Learn more about app restrictions.