Advanced settings allow you to add a layer of security to your API calls, create a Page for your app, link a Business Manager and Ad Account to your app, control redirect sharing, or remove your app.
This toggle is used to validate API requests for native or desktop apps since app access tokens are considered insecure due to the app secret being embedded in the code creating an insecure app access token.
If the Native or Desktop App toggle is set to Yes, then you will need to set this field. This restricts the app secret usage to methods allowed by a Client access token.
Learn more about API versioning.
The Upgrade All Calls setting allows you to specify the API version your app calls for all users of your app.
The Upgrade All Calls for App Roles setting allows you to specify the API version your app calls for your developers. This allows you to test upgraded versions on developers before rolling out to the public.
The App Restrictions settings allow you to specify who can use your app.
Consider soft launching your app in a few specific countries or specific age groups before releasing it to the world. By using this feature you can test how your app performs against a limited set of users in a specific location, allowing you to test and tweak your app before your full launch.
The Reference Alcohol settings restricts your app by age in some locations.
The Age Restriction settings prevents your app from being used by Facebook Users who don't meet the selected age criteria.
If your app is available in European Union countries, they may have more strict age restriction requirements that differ from your global age restriction settings. You will be able to set GDPR Restricted and select the age restriction from the GDPR Restriction drop-down. Note: It must be a lower age than the selected global age.
The Social Discovery settings controls the publishing of app usage stories in the Facebook Ticker or Newsfeed. Selecting No will prevent app usage stories from appearing in News Feeds.
The Country Restricted setting allows you to restrict usage depending on the country of the user. Selecting Yes enables country-based app restrictions, which triggers additional settings to define these restrictions.
When Country Restricted is set to Yes, the Allowed Countries setting allows you to select the countries of users that are allowed to use your app. If no countries have been added to this list, your app will be available worldwide.
When Country Restricted is set to Yes, the Use Without Location setting allows your app to be used by Facebook users whose location cannot be determined.
The Security Settings found in the App Dashboard allow you to keep your app and its data as secure as possible.
List IP addresses that are allowed to use your app secret to keep API calls more secure.
List IP addresses that are allowed to change the app's settings via the Graph API or any Facebook apps, including the App Dashboard itself.
A notification will be sent to this email address whenever any app settings are changed using the App Dashboard. This can alert you to any unauthorized changes to your app settings.
The client token is an identifier that you can embed into native mobile binaries or desktop apps to identify your app.
Beginning with SDK v13.0 for iOS and Android, set to release in early 2022, a Client Token will be required for all calls to the Graph API.
Set Require 2-Factor Reauthorization to Yes to require 2-Factor authorization to change app settings through API calls.
Set Allow API Access to App Settings to Yes to allow your app's settings to be changed programmatically through API calls.
Add your domains to set options for prefetching data from your URLs. You can also use this to opt out of prefetching.
Create a Facebook Page associated with your app. Your app's name must be in the Page's name and the Page's category must be set to App Page.
Associate your app with a Business to use the Business Mapping API to manage your app.
Add Facebook Ad Accounts to advertise your app on Facebook.
Allow shares that redirect to your URLs from cross domain URLs.
If Allow Cross Domain Share Redirects is set to No, you can add the domains that are allowed redirect to your URLs when shared.
Allows an app administrator to remove the app.