App Modes

An app's mode determines who is able to use the app. An app in Development mode can only be used by app users who have a role on the app or a role in a business that has claimed it. An app in Live mode can be used by anyone, but requires App Review approval before it can be used.

You can use the app mode toggle in the App Dashboard toolbar to swich between modes.

Screenshot of App Mode Toggle in the top toolbar.

Modes work in conjunction with app roles, permissions, features, and App Review as follows:

ModeRole Users*Non-Role Users

Development

Can grant any available permission and all available features are active

Cannot grant permissions and all features are inactive

Live

Can only grant approved permissions and only approved features are active

Can only grant approved permissions and only approved features are active

* A role user is defined as an app user who has a role on the app or a role in a Business that has claimed it.

Note that Business apps do not have app modes and instead rely on access levels, which provide the same functionality.

Development Mode

While your app is in Development mode it can only be used by app users who have a role on it, or by app users who have a role in Business that has claimed it. App users with a role on your app or claimant business can grant it any permission, regardless of whether or not the permission has been approved through App Review, as long as your app is in Development mode. Similarly, all features are active for users with a role on your app or Business, as long as your app is in Development mode, except for Page Public Content Access and Page Public Metadata Access.

In addition, apps in Development mode cannot be searched for by the public through our tools and APIs, and if your app is eligible to be listed in the App Center, it will be hidden.

Any data generated while in Development mode can only be seen by app users who have a role on your app or Business. However, if you switch your app to Live mode, that data will be visible to anyone who is able to use your app.

All newly created apps start out in Development mode and should not be switched to Live mode until you have completed app development. Once you switch to Live mode, only approved permissions can be granted to your app by app users, and only approved features will be active for app users, regardless of any roles they may have on your app or Business.

Live Mode

When you switch your app to Live mode it can be used by anyone. Any app user can grant your app any approved permission, and all approved features will be active for all app users. Apps in Live mode can be searched for by anyone using our tools and APIs, and if eligible, can be listed in the App Center.

You should only switch your app to Live mode after you have completed app development and have completed App Review. Apps in Live can only be granted approved permissions, and only approved features will be active for app users. This restricption applies to everyone, even users who have a role on the app or claimant business, so switching to Live mode prematuraly may make your app unusable for users with roles on your app or Business. In addition, data generated while in Development mode will become visible to all app users once you switch.