Graph API 概覽

Graph API 是在 Facebook 平台輸出和輸入資料的主要方法。這是低級別 HTTP 型 API,您可以用來以程序化的方式查詢資料、發佈新動態、管理廣告、上載相片、以及各種應用程式可能會執行的工作。

基本入門

Graph API 是以「社交圖表」的想法命名 ─ 代表 Facebook 資訊,包含:

  • 節點 ─ 基本上就是如用戶、相片、專頁、回應這些「東西」
  • 邊緣 ─ 這些「東西」之間的連結,例如專頁的相片,或相片的回應
  • 欄位 ─ 這些「東西」的資訊,例如用戶的生日,或專頁名稱

Graph API 是以 HTTP 為基礎,因此可以配搭任何具有 HTTP 程式庫的語言使用,例如 cURL 及 urllib。在下列章節中,我們將進一步解釋您可以用 Graph API 做什麼,但是這代表您也可以直接在瀏覽器上使用 Graph API,例如 Graph API 要求等同於:

GET graph.facebook.com
  /facebook/picture?
    redirect=false

大部分 Graph API 要求需要使用存取憑證,您的應用程式執行 Facebook 登入後即可產生。

本概覽將展示您 Graph API 如何在社交圖表上讀取和發佈資料。

構成方式

這些在我們的 Graph API 使用指南皆有涵蓋,但是整體上,您可以藉由在這些節點上對節點或邊緣發出 HTTP GET 要求來讀取 API。

幾乎所有要求都在 graph.facebook.com 傳遞至 API,唯一的例外是使用 graph-video.facebook.com 上載的影片。

物件 ID

每一個節點都有獨特的 ID,用來透過 Graph API 存取節點。我們不特別記錄任何節點/物件 ID 的結構或格式,因為這極有可能隨著時間改變,而且應用程式不應該基於目前的結構做假設。

以下教您該如何使用 ID 發出節點的要求:

GET graph.facebook.com
  /{node-id}

或邊緣:

GET graph.facebook.com
  /{node-id}/{edge-name}

您通常可以使用參數發出 HTTP POST 要求,將 API 發佈至節點:

POST graph.facebook.com
  /{node-id}

或邊緣:

POST graph.facebook.com
  /{node-id}/{edge-name}

可以使用相同端點的 HTTP DELETE 要求,透過 API 完成刪除(以及透過 POST 要求升級)。

API 版本

Graph API 有多種版本可用,可以隨時存取。每一個版本包含一組核心欄位和邊緣作業。我們保證在推出後至少 2 年內,可以在該版本使用核心 API 且不必修改。平台變更記錄可以告訴您哪些版本目前可以使用。

某些特定作業,例如在邊緣內發佈、或節點內的特定欄位,可能得以成為核心,而整個邊緣或節點則不必為核心。我們在 Graph API 參考文件內使用 來註明這些核心 API。

所有在這些核心 API 之外的都稱為擴展 API。這些 API 仍然可透過版本路徑存取,但可能得以隨時修改或移除,根據我們的平台藍圖宣布的 90 天轉移而定。或者,它們可能就直接包含於下一個可用的 API 版本中。

您可以在我們的指南中參閱版本目的詳細資訊,但是我們將在此向您解釋如何對特定版本的 Graph API 進行調用。

這非常簡單,只需在要求路徑的開頭前面加上版本識別碼。例如,這是對 v2.2 的調用:

GET graph.facebook.com
  /v2.2/me

所有版本都適用,一般形式如下:

GET graph.facebook.com
  /vX.Y/{request-path}

其中需要的版本是 X.Y。我們發佈了藍圖中所有可用版本的清單。我們所有的 Graph API 參考文件都提供各版本的資訊,因此請務必確認您查閱的是正確的版本;有些版本會移除節點和邊緣,有些則會加入。

現在讓我們試試 API 要求,您就會知道這有多簡單。

載入 Graph API 測試工具

瞭解 Graph API 最簡單的方法,就是和 Graph API 測試工具配搭使用,這是一個低級別工具,可以用來查詢、增加和移除資料。在與 Facebook 整合時,這是非常便利、觸「指」可及的資源。所以您的下一步是前往 Graph API 測試工具

Graph API 測試工具

產生基本用戶存取憑證

當您建立屬於您的應用程式時,您需要瞭解存取憑證以及如何使用「Facebook 登入」產生,但是現在,我們可以藉由 Graph API 測試工具快速取得:

  1. 點擊測試工具右上方的 Get Token 按鈕。
  2. 選擇 Get User Access Token 選項。
  3. 在接下來的對話框中,不要核取任何方格,只要點擊藍色的 Get Access Token 按鈕。
  4. 您會看到一個 Facebook 登入對話框,在這裡點擊 OK 以繼續操作。

發出第一個要求

現在您已準備好發出第一個 Gragh API 要求,我們就從「讀取」要求開始。在「GET」下拉式選單按鈕旁邊的文字欄位(我們稱為路徑欄位),刪除現有文字,然後輸入「me」:

現在按下「提交」按鈕。程序需時數秒,但是您現在應該可以看到回應介面出現了許多資訊。出現在這裡的內容,取決於您個人檔案的私隱設定,但是應該至少有一些基本欄位:

您剛才在 Grapg API 測試工具所做的,就和以下 Graph API 「讀取」要求相同:

GET graph.facebook.com
  /me

/me 是一個特殊端點,會轉譯至使用存取憑證發出要求的用戶編號。

恭喜,您在剛剛完成了第一次 Graph API 要求!

取得發佈權限

接著我們要嘗試使用 Graph API 將一些內容發佈到 Facebook。只有當您在建立屬於您的自訂撰寫程式,且沒有在網頁iOS、或 Android 使用其中一個分享對話框時,才可以在您的應用程式進行這個程序。Facebook 分享對話框並不會要求您執行 Facebook 登入,或建立您自己的介面讓別人分享。

若要使用 Graph API 探索發佈,請再一次點擊「取得存取憑證」按鈕,而這一次,請選擇 publish_actions 權限:

現在點擊藍色「取得存取憑證」按鈕,然後您會再次看到登入對話框。這裡將會徵求您同意 Graph API 測試工具代表您發佈帖子。如有需要,您也可以把受眾改為「只限本人」,這樣就只有您可以看見帖子,但是您要接受這個對話框,並進行下一個步驟。

發佈帖子

如果您已請求過 publish_actions 權限,現在請點擊「GET」按鈕,然後從出現的下拉式選單選擇「POST」。進入路徑欄位中的 me/feed,然後點擊「新增欄位」。

在出現的新欄位中,「名稱」填入 message,「值」填入 Hello, World。看起來如同這樣:

現在點擊藍色「提交」按鈕,幾秒鐘之後,回應介面應該看起來像這樣:

{
  "id": "{new-post-id}"
}

這代表您剛剛透過 Graph API 發佈您的第一則帖子! 您可以前往個人檔案,然後您應該可以在此看到這則帖子:

您剛才在 Graph API 測試工具所做的,就和以下 Graph API 「發佈」要求相同:

POST graph.facebook.com
  /me/feed?
    message="Hello, World."&
    access_token={your-access-token}

後續步驟

您已經學會基礎了,何不繼續深入瞭解使用 Graph API? 如果還沒學會,我們建議您先參閱 Facebook 登入,特別是如何產生存取憑證,當您進行更複雜的 Graph API 調用時,會需要用到。

Graph API Overview

The Graph API is the primary way to get data in and out of Facebook's platform. It's a low-level HTTP-based API that you can use to query data, post new stories, manage ads, upload photos and a variety of other tasks that an app might need to do.

The Basics

The Graph API is named after the idea of a 'social graph' - a representation of the information on Facebook composed of:

  • nodes - basically "things" such as a User, a Photo, a Page, a Comment
  • edges - the connections between those "things", such as a Page's Photos, or a Photo's Comments
  • fields - info about those "things", such as a person's birthday, or the name of a Page

The Graph API is HTTP based, so it works with any language that has an HTTP library, such as cURL, urllib. We'll explain a bit more about what you can do with this in the section below, but it means you can also use the Graph API directly in your browser, for example a Graph API request is equivalent to:


Most Graph API requests require the use of access tokens which your app can generate by implementing Facebook Login.

This overview will show you how the Graph API can read and publish data to the social graph.

How it's Structured

We cover this fully in our Using Graph API guide, but in general you can read APIs by making HTTP GET requests to nodes or edges on those nodes.

Almost all requests are passed to the API at - the single exception is video uploads which use

Object IDs

Each node has a unique ID which is used to access it via the Graph API. We specifically do not document any node/object ID structure or format because it is extremely likely to change over time and apps should not make assumptions based on current structure.

Here's how you'd use the ID to make a request for a node:


or edge:


You can generally publish to APIs by making HTTP POST requests with parameters to the node:


or edge:


Deleting via APIs is accomplished using HTTP DELETE requests (and updating via POST requests) to the same endpoints.

API versions

The Graph API has multiple versions available to access at any one time. Each version contains a set of core fields and edge operations. We guarantee that those core APIs will be available and un-modified in that version for at least 2 years from release. The platform changelog can tell you which versions are currently available.

Certain operations such as publishing within an edge, or certain fields within a node, may be core without the entire edge or node being core. We annotate these core APIs using this symbol within our Graph API reference docs.

Everything outside of these core APIs are called extended APIs. These APIs are still accessed through versioned paths, but they can potentially be modified or removed at any time, subject to 90-day migrations that would be announced on our platform roadmap. Alternatively they may simply be included in the next available API version.

You can read more about the intent of versioning in our guide, but here we'll explain how you make a call to a specific version of the Graph API.

It's really simple - just pre-pend the version identifier to the start of the request path. For example, here's a call to v2.2:


This works for all versions, in this general form:


where X.Y is the version needed. We publish a full list of available versions in our changelog. All of our Graph API Reference docs provide per-version information, so please check you're looking at the correct version - some versions remove nodes and edges, some versions will add nodes and edges.

Now let's try an API request, so you can see how easy it is.

Load the Graph API Explorer

The easiest way to understand the Graph API is to use it with the Graph API Explorer, a low-level tool you can use to query, add and remove data. It's a very handy resource to have at your fingertips while you integrate with Facebook. So your next step is to go to the Graph API Explorer.

Graph API Explorer

Generate a Basic User Access Token

When you get to building your own app, you'll need to learn about access tokens and how to generate them using Facebook Login, but for now, we can get one really quickly through the Graph API Explorer:

  1. Click on the Get Token button in the top right of the Explorer.
  2. Choose the option Get User Access Token.
  3. In the following dialog don't check any boxes, just click the blue Get Access Token button.
  4. You'll see a Facebook Login Dialog, click **OK" here to proceed.

Make Your First Request

Now you're ready to make your first Graph API request, we'll start with a 'read' request. In the text field beside the "GET" dropdown button (we'll call this the path field), delete the existing text and type in 'me':

Now press the "Submit" button. It'll take a few seconds to process, but you should now see a whole bunch of information appear in the response panel. What appears here for you is determined by the privacy settings of your profile, but there should at least be some basic fields:

What you've just done here in the Graph API Explorer is the equivalent of the following Graph API 'read' request:


/me is a special endpoint that translates to the user ID of the person whose access token is being used to make the request.

Congratulations, you've just made your first Graph API request!

Get Publishing Permissions

Next we'll try publishing something to Facebook using the Graph API. You would do this in your app only if you're building your own custom composer and not using one of the Share Dialogs on web, iOS, or Android. The Facebook Share Dialogs don't require you to implement Facebook login or build your own interface for letting people share.

To explore publishing with the Graph API, click on that "Get Access Token" button again, and this time, choose publish_actions permission:

Now click on the blue "Get Access Token" button, and you'll see the Login Dialog again. Here you'll be asked for permission for the Graph API Explorer to post on your behalf. If you want you can change the audience here to 'Only Me' so that only you will be able to see the post, but you should accept this dialog and move onto the next step.

Publish a Post

If you've asked for publish_actions permission, now click on the button that says "GET" on it and choose "POST" from the dropdown selector that appears. Enter me/feed in the path field, and then click "Add a Field".

In the new fields that appear, put message as the "name", and Hello, World as the "value. It should look something like this:

Now click that blue "Submit" button, and after a few seconds the response panel should show something like:

  "id": "{new-post-id}"

This means that you've just published your first post via the Graph API! You can goto your profile, and you should be able to see the post there:

What you've just done here in the Graph API Explorer is the equivalent of the following Graph API 'publish' request:

    message="Hello, World."&

Next Steps

You've covered the basics here, so why not continue to learn more about Using the Graph API? If you haven't yet, we recommend you first read about Facebook Login and especially about how to generate access tokens which you will need to make more complex Graph API requests.