Submitting For Review

Use this guide to help you create an App Review submission once you have completed all app development and need to request approval for specific permissions and features. After you receive your App Review results, any app user will be able to grant your app any permissions for which you have been approved.

Before You Start

Step 1: Select Permissions and Features

Go to the App Review > Permissions and Features tab.

Request each of the permissions and features that your app needs by searching for them individually and clicking their Request button to add them to your submission. Only request the permissions and features that your app needs. Once you're ready, click the Continue the Request button.

Step 2: Complete App Verification

Scroll down to the Complete App Verification section and click anywhere in the row. This will display the App Verification Details window. If app users can sign into your app using Facebook Login or any of our authentication solutions, set the radio button to Yes. This lets us know that we can access your app using a Facebook account.

In the Platform Settings section, confirm that the information displayed is correct, and in the space provided, describe how we can access your app in order to test it.

We will test your app using our own test accounts. If you have created specific test users and want us to use them when testing your app, include their credentials in your description. Do not include your personal Facebook account's credentials.

Step 3: Complete Usage Descriptions

Scroll down to the Requested Permissions and Features section and click on the first permission or feature in the row. In the window that appears, describe why your app needs this permission or feature.

Be as specific as possible with your description. If you're having difficulty describing why your app needs the permission or feature, try answering these questions:

  • How does this permission/feature help my app users?
  • Why does my app need this permission/feature?
  • How does my app use the data that this permission/feature provides access to?
  • Why would my app be less useful if it did not have this permission/feature?

Next, upload your screen recording that shows us how to use your app to test this permission or feature.

Repeat Step 3 for every permission and feature that you are requesting.

Each permission and feature must have its own description. Do not copy and paste.

Step 4: Complete App Settings

Scroll down to the Complete App Settings section and click anywhere in the row. The window that appears displays required settings that can be found in the Settings > Basic tab, so these may already be complete. If they are, just confirm that everything is correct or make adjustments as needed. If any are incomplete, set them here.

App Icon

Make sure your App Icon does not include any of our trademarks or logos.

Privacy Policy URL

This is the URL that we present to app users in the Facebook Login interface so they can decide whether or not to grant your app any permissions it is requesting.

App Purpose

Set this to Yourself or your own business if your app is only available to people who have a role on your app, or a role in a Business that has claimed your app. Otherwise set it to Clients.

App Category

Make sure to select a category that accurately describes your app.

Primary Contact

Make sure you have access to the email account displayed here. Email notifications pertaining to your App Review submission will be sent to this address.

Step 5: Submit For Review

Click Submit for Review and agree to our Platform Onboarding Terms in the window that appears. Once you accept the terms and submit, your submission will be queued and you should receive a decision within a week.

If your app has modes, you should only switch it to Live mode after you have completed App Review. Apps in Live mode can only request approved permissions from app users, and only approved features will be active for app users. This restriction applies to everyone, even users who have a role on the app itself, so switching to Live mode prematurely may make your app unusable for users who have a role on your app. In addition, data generated while in Development mode such as test posts will become visible to all app users once you switch.