Manual Account Management

Overview

Each person requiring access to Workplace must have an account created first, unless self-invite is enabled. This document shows you how to manage accounts one at a time. To manage accounts in bulk, see Bulk Account Management.

Our best practice for account management is to use Automatic Account Management via an identity provider or through custom integration using the Account Management API. If either of these methods are not possible, Workplace supports the ability to provision, update and deactivate accounts manually through the Admin Panel.

User accounts can only be provisioned, updated or deactivated by administrators with a System Administrator or Account Manager role.

Managing Accounts

Creating an Account

To create an account for a person:

  1. In the Admin Panel, select People from the list in the left-pane.
  2. Click the + Add Person button and fill in the user details.
  3. Click the Add button.

Updating an Account

You may need to communicate with the user separately to inform them of a change which may affect their login, such as a change to their email address

To update a person's account:

  1. In the Admin Panel, select People from the list in the left-pane.
  2. Search for the user account to edit.
  3. Click the settings icon beside their name on the far right and select Edit Person's Details.
  4. Make the necessary edits and click the Edit Person's Details button.

Deactivating an Account

Workplace provides the ability to deactivate user accounts, in order to retain the information which they have contributed to the service, after they leave the organisation. This is important to allow existing and new users to find the content and understand the context.

Users who have been deactivated will have their user profile hidden and have their names greyed out for any comments/posts they have submitted whilst activated.

To deactivate a person's account:

  1. In the Admin Panel, select People from the list in the left-pane.
  2. Search for the user account to deactivate.
  3. Click the settings icon beside their name on the far right and select Deactivate User.
  4. Read the warning popup, and then click the Confirm button.

Deleting an Account

After being invited to Workplace, if a user claimed their account by logging in, they cannot be deleted.

To delete a person's account:

  1. In the Admin Panel, select People from the list in the left-pane.
  2. Search for the user account to delete.
  3. Click the settings icon beside their name on the far right and select Delete User.
  4. Read the warning popup, and then click the Confirm button.

Self Invite

This option allows people to create their own Workplace account, by entering a company email address with an email domain which has been associated with your Workplace domain. Self Invite is useful for small companies which lack a central identity management solution.

Self Invite is not recommended for larger organizations, or companies where central identity management is crucial.

By enabling Self Invite, accounts are not provisioned in advance. This may be a confusing experience for people who expect to find their coworkers in Workplace. See Account Management for more information on why provisioning in advance is important.

Please contact your Workplace support before enabling Self Invite, so that you can whitelist the email domains for which you want to allow access. A link to support is included on the setting page.

Enabling Self Invite

To enable Self Invite for your employees:

  1. In the Admin Panel, select Settings from the list in the left-pane.
  2. Under the Who can join Workplace? heading, select Anyone in the company with a valid email address.