Reasons for Revocation of Permissions

The following are reasons why your app has lost permissions after initial approval.

Approved Permissions Before May 1, 2018

If your app was approved for a permission before May 1, 2018, permissions may be revoked due to the following:

  • The permission was not approved during app review. In this case, the app will immediately lose access to the permission. Other permissions will not be affected if they have been approved.
  • Additional information was required during app review but the information was not provided to Facebook App Review within 30 days of the request.
    • Your app must be approved within 30 days of the initial information request or permissions will be lost. This includes multiple submission attempts marked Additional Information was Required within that 30 days.
    • If, during the 30 days, a submission attempt is not approved, access is lost immediately.
  • Your app was not submitted for app review prior to August 1, 2018. Exemptions include:
    • Apps eligible for Marketing API
    • Apps eligible for Messenger API
  • Your business was not approved during Business Verification. All apps owned by this business lose access to all permissions even if only one app was submitted for review.

Approved Permissions After May 1, 2018

If your app was approved for a permission after May 1, 2018, permissions may be revoked due to the following:

  • The app is moved to a different unverified business. All previously approved permissions will be blocked.
    • If the app is then moved back to the verified business, the permissions will be unblocked.
  • The app is marked as Provide services to other businesses but is then moved to a different business which has not signed the Tech Provider Amendment. All previously approved permissions will be revoked.
    • Even if the business is verified, if the business has not signed the Tech Provider Amendment, all permissions will be revoked.

Any apps created after May 1, 2018 must be approved during app review to access all permissions except email and default permissions.